Loading Events
Mar 15 2019

uclaFLUX Winter 2019 Concert

Lani Hall

Devoted to the performance of chamber music from the 20th and 21st centuries, uclaFLUX presents a concert featuring works by Andrew Norman, Charles Wuorinen, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Elliott Carter, Cheryl Frances-Hoad and others. Directed by GRAMMY-winning pianist Gloria Cheng.


Andrew Norman, The Companion Guide to Rome
Xenia Deviantkina-Loh, violin
Lu Walstad, viola
Niall Ferguson, cello

Charles Wuorinen, Never the Same Again
Andrew Pringle, bass/baritone
Spencer Hart, tuba

Esa-Pekka Salonen, Second Meeting
Will Stevens, oboe
Xiao Chen, piano

Hilary Tann, Songs of the Cotton Grass, iii & iv
Chloe Vaught, soprano
Will Stevens, oboe

Donald Grantham, La noche en la isla
Andrew Pringle, bass/baritone
Duncan Smith, horn
Nicholas Carlozzi, piano

Cheryl Frances-Hoad, “The Shadow Tree,” from One Life Stand
Hanna DeLoe, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Carlozzi, piano

Heitor Villa Lobos, Suite for Voice and Violin
Lori McMahan, soprano
Charlie Thollander, violin

Elliott Carter, Sonata for Cello and Piano
Killian Kelly, cello
Brandon Zhou, piano

Register in advance for this event. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the event.

Attending this Program


Self-service parking is available at UCLA’s Parking Structure #2 for events in Schoenberg Music Building and the Evelyn and Mo Ostin Music Center. Costs range from $1 for 20 minutes to $20 all day. Learn more about campus parking.


The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music is eager to provide a variety of accommodations and services for access and communications. If you would like to request accommodations, please do so 10 days in advance of the event by emailing ADA@schoolofmusic.ucla.edu or calling (310) 825-0174.


The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music welcomes visitors to take non‐flash, personal‐use photography except where noted. Share your images with us @UCLAalpert / #UCLAalpert on Twitter + Instagram + Facebook


Food and drink may not be carried into the theaters. Thank you!