Inside the (G)earbox: John Adams @ 70

Inside the (G)earbox: John Adams @ 70

March 04, 2017. 11:30 am - 8:30 pm

Schoenberg Hall 445 Charles E Young Drive East, University of California, Los Angeles, CA 90095, USA

Inside the (G)earbox: John Adams @ 70

In honor of the 70th birthday of composer John Adams, the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music joins cultural organizations around the world during a year-long celebration of his work. Schoenberg Hall will be the site of an expansive symposium featuring panels and two concerts by some of the original performers who premiered the works. A joint endeavor between the departments of Musicology and Music, and curated and directed by faculty Robert Fink and Gloria Cheng, the program features two of the most physically intense pieces of classical music one of which will be performed by Cheng, a GRAMMY-winning pianist, as well as insightful panels with leading Adams' scholars such as Alice Miller Cotter.


11:30 Coffee, Introduction. Robert Fink (UCLA)

12:00 -1:00 Lecture
Sketching the Continuum: The Working Practices of John Adams
Alice Miller Cotter (Princeton University, UC Berkeley)

1:15 Pre-Concert Lecture
Robert Fink

1:30 – 2:35 CONCERT 1

Phrygian Gates (1977-9)
Gloria Cheng, piano

John’s Book of Alleged Dances (1994)
i. Judah to Ocean
ii. Toot Nipple
iii. Dogjam
iv. Pavane: She's So Fine
v. Rag the Bone
vi. Habanera
vii. Stubble Crotchet
viii. Hammer & Chisel
xi. Alligator Escalator
x. Ständchen: The Little Serenade

Anna Corcoran, violin
Xenia Deviatkina-Loh, violin
Ben Bartelt, viola
Anne Suda, cello

- Coffee/Snack Break

2:45 - 3:45 Lecture
John Coolidge Adams as Rhythmic Pioneer
Kyle Gann (Village Voice, Bard College)

4:00 - 5:00 PANEL
Robert Fink, moderator, with
Sarah Cahill (San Francisco Conservatory), Alice Miller Cotter (Princeton University, UC Berkeley), Kyle Gann (Village Voice, Bard College), Robert Hurwitz (Nonesuch Records)

- Dinner Break

7:15 Pre-Concert Lecture
Robert Fink

8:00 CONCERT 2

China Gates (1977)
Sarah Cahill, piano

Shaker Loops (1978)
i. Shaking and Trembling
ii. Hymning Slews
iii. Loops and Verses
iv. A Final Shaking

Lyris Quartet:
Alyssa Park, Shalini Vijayan, violins
Luke Maurer, viola
Timothy Loo, cello

with Sarah Thornblade, violin
Charles Tyler, cello
Eric Shetzen, contrabass

Road Movies (1995)
i. Relaxed Groove
ii. Meditative
iii. 40% Swing

Xenia Deviatkina-Loh, violin
Nicholas Carlozzi, piano

Hallelujah Junction (1998)
Grant Gershon, Gloria Cheng, pianos

Son of Chamber Symphony (2007)

Anastasia Petanova, flute/piccolo
Sydney Chou, oboe
Dalton Tran, clarinet
Dawn Hamilton, bass clarinet
Ryan Yamashiro, bassoon
Maxwell Paulus, horn
Everett Kelly, trumpet
Aidan Ritchie, trombone
Xenia Deviatkina-Loh, violin
Stephanie Spencer, violin
Alec Santamaria, viola
Niall Ferguson, cello
Jules Levy, bass
Rosalind Wong, piano/celesta
Dante Luna, percussion/keyboard
David Riccobono, percussion/keyboard
Geoffrey Pope, conductor

Tickets: $15 general admission; $10 UCLA faculty and staff with valid UCLA ID. UCLA Students admitted free with valid UCLA ID. Ticket entitles patron to attend any or all programs and concerts.

Tickets may be purchased through the UCLA Central Ticket Office at 310-825-2101 or online at

All-day parking ($12) and short-term parking (payable at pay stations) are available in parking structure 2 (Hilgard and Westholme avenues)

Made possible by the David & Irmgard Dobrow Fund. Additional support provided by the Hugo Davise Fund for Contemporary Music of the UCLA Music Library and the UCLA Arts Initiative.

Photo: Vern Evans