Nine Winners of the 2018-2019 All-Star Competition will Perform as Soloists in Royce Hall

< 1

Conductor and bassoonist Anthony Parnther and New Yorker music critic Alex Ross served as adjudicators of the Department of Music’s 15th Annual All-Star Competition. The pair selected nine outstanding students who will have the opportunity to perform as soloists with the UCLA Philharmonia, the school’s flagship orchestra and one of Southern California’s premier training orchestras. Performing as a soloist with orchestra is a peak musical experience, offering musicians the opportunity to stand out and to interpret the music their way. The 15th Annual All-Star Concert is Sat., Jan. 26, 2019 at 8 p.m. in Royce Hall. Admission is free. Neal Stulberg, Stephen Karr, and Bruno Bastos di Nascimento – conductors.

Tyler Baillie, clarinet (third-year undergraduate; Debussy Première Rhapsodie)
Ji Eun Hwang, violin (second-year MM; Brahms Violin Concerto, Mvt. I)
Sara Nemiro, violin (third-year undergraduate; Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1, Mvt. II)
Kayla Solomon, trumpet (first-year MM; Hummel Trumpet Concerto, Mvt. II)
Will Stevens, oboe (fourth-year undergraduate; Eugene Goosens Concerto for Oboe in One Movement)
Veola Sun, piano (second-year undergraduate; Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1; Mvt. III)
Elizabeth and Eliana Van Renterghem, flutes (first-year transfer students; Doppler Concerto for two flutes in D minor; Mvt. I)
Caleb Yang, cello (third-year undergraduate; Bloch Schelomo)

Honorable Mention:
Justin Birchell, voice (second-year transfer student; Copland Old American Songs)
Tasiaeafe Hiner, flute (first-year MM; Malcolm Arnold Concerto for Flute and Strings)
Austin Ho, piano (second-year undergraduate; Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, Mvt. I)
Amanda Lee, piano (third-year undergraduate; Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 2, Mvt. III)
Joshua Park, alto saxophone (first-year undergraduate; Paul Creston Concerto for Alto Saxophone)
Antonina Rose, piano (second-year undergraduate; Saint-Säens Piano Concerto No. 2, Mvt. I)

Congratulations to all of our students!